Sew much to do, sew little time!

Whew! I can’t believe we are already into March. 2011 is zipping by at lightening speed! I definitely hope to be more present and consistent with my blog postings in the coming weeks, because I’m gearing up for something pretty huge…

                                                      Me Made May 2011!

I have high hopes of being able to have enough self-stitched pieces completed in order to participate. While this does mean putting any Smash Knits crafting items on the back burner for a little while, I took a pledge at the beginning of the year to only wear self-stitched or thrifted clothing for the next 365 days – no new clothing purchases allowed. I am determined to see this challenge through. Spring is just around the corner, I’ve got some delicious fabric just waiting to be cut into, so what better way to showcase it than by blogging for 30 days straight and wearing handmade pieces each day?

This time last year I hadn’t even heard of any crafting/sewing blogs, let alone a whole month dedicated to handcrafted apparel (two if you count Self Stitched September!), but I’m so glad I stumbled upon Sewaholic and was able to read all about Tasia’s self-made wardrobe, see photos, and  get inspired! So it will soon be my turn, and I’m so excited. Now if only I didn’t have to work for a living… Before diving into my May pieces, I’m working on one of many Cynthia Rowley patterns I’ve been hoarding. I love all of her designs, and the one I’ve chosen currently is perfect for an upcoming wedding March 19th. The fabric I’m using is a lovely watercolor blend of navy, green and teal (photos to come), and the ruffle neckline of the dress will be a coordinating solid navy. The fabric I’m using is a stretch satin – it will be my first time sewing with something slippery, so I’m a bit nervous about the process. Tips and suggestions most certainly welcome! This dress will also allow me to develop a new skill: installing an invisible zipper. Not going to lie – I’m a little intimidated, but I think between Youtube and Burdastyle, I should come out on top. Better get cracking!

Cynthia Rowley dress pattern 2497

 

Leave some love

