Michael Miller and the amazing Dritz Loop Turner

I recently finished an apron (AND FORGOT TO TAKE PHOTOS!) as a wedding gift for Boyfriend Smash’s old roommate’s bride to be (can we say seven degrees of separation?). I wanted to write a post about it:

a) to ramble about my love of Michael Miller’s retro kitchen fabrics and

b) to rave about my latest favorite sewing tool. Two very note-worthy topics!

The pattern I followed for the apron came from One Yard Wonders. I have had the book for almost a year; this is the first project I’ve gotten around to doing. For anyone who is newer to sewing, likes smaller projects, or has an addiction errrr, penchant, for purchasing several one-yard pieces of fabric, this book is great! The instructions are all very easy to follow, there are great photos of the projects, and pattern pieces are included. I definitely have several more projects bookmarked that I plan to get to sooner rather than later. Start to finish the whole thing took me about an hour fifteen, which is a plus in my books!

The fabric I used was Michael Miller’s Home Ec. Because… what’s more appropriate for a retro apron that fabric with retro aprons all over it?! 

{photo from inspirefabrics.com}

I had purchased this along with Michael Miller’s Dysfunctial Family. I love both prints and wish I had purchased more! I’m a fan of MM to begin with, but I absolutely love the retro throwback prints available.

Construction of this apron required apron ties, something I usually hate making. I find fiddling with the ties, and trying (and failing) multiple times to turn them right side out very frustrating. Not any longer! I picked up the Dritz loop turner several months ago and had yet to use it. Let’s just say, it would have come in very handy in December when I was crafting aprons like crazy for the Christmas season… I had my two ties turned inside out, pressed and ready to go in 60 seconds flat! I’m in love :) Well worth the $10.00 I paid for the three different sized loop turners. Can’t sing their praises enough.

{photo courtesy of createforless.com}

 Happy sewing!

Leave some love

