MMJ: Day Two

The sun is shining yet again today, a welcome change after the dismal weather we’ve been having recently. That being said, I feel my outfit today reflects my mood in response to this great weather: bright and cheery! This dress is actually one of the first items I made for myself when I (re)took up sewing last August. I made it for a rehearsal dinner for a friend’s wedding. There are plenty of beginner’s errors, but fortunately you can’t see most of them. Let’s just say I’ve come a long way with armhole binding since I put this puppy together! :)

Initially, I wasn’t a huge fan of the fabric I chose – which was in a mad dash panic five minutes before the store was closing – as it’s a heavier twill, however it has stood up well to washing, and doesn’t appear to wrinkle too badly. Sewing with it as a beginner was great, because it’s anything but flimsy. The detailing on the right shoulder was a last minute idea in order to “dress” the dress up a little – I created several rolled rosette flowers and tacked them on. If they get worn down in the wash, I can simply snip them off. Hands down the best feature? Pockets!

The goods:
Dress– Me Made! Cynthia Rowley for Simplicity pattern 2586
Tights – Forever 21 (grey today)
Cardi – Take21 via Winners
Belt – Ardene
Shoes – Alfred Sung

Hours worn: 11

Places visited: Work

Main activities: Sitting at a computer

Number of times I have worn this piece: Third time’s a charm.

Wear Again: Absolutely, and expect to see another dress later on this month… in yellow! I love my brights.

I had occasion to check out the Me Made June ’11 Flickr pool and WOW! Already there are so many amazing photos of fantastic outfits. Can’t wait to see what the rest of the week will hold!

Leave some love

