MMJ: Days 20 & 21

I’m still having a bit of trouble getting back into the swing of things after a few days off. I neglected to photograph Monday’s outfit, so a mannequin photo of the shirt I wore will have to suffice. I was out shopping with my Mum on the weekend and fell in love with this tank top. Usually I’m not a fan of lavender, but I enjoy the purple/navy contrast and lace detailing. This shirt was on a clearance rack, and was size XXXL, so it required some tailoring! Ten minutes later, I had a nice, long and fitted tank top.  I love being able to look at clothing items differently; just because it’s not my size in the store doesn’t mean it can’t be altered at home. Especially when items are on the clearance rack or have a small flaw. I try very hard to validate my purchase by asking if I could make it for less – this tank was $9.00 and I know that had I purchased stretch lace, knit fabric and factored in my time, it would have cost me more. Success!

As for Tuesday’s outfit – I put a little more effort in. I’m trying! :) I have yards of assorted vintage lace kicking around and not much of an idea of what to do with it… so I decided to spruce up a plain white tank I had by adding a large strip down the middle. A little Steam and Seal and some camouflaged tacking stitches, and I was good to go! The skirt I’m wearing was another clearance rack find. After taking the hem up a few inches, I realize it still needs some work. In true RTW clothing fashion, the shape is poorly constructed. There are about 2 inches of excess fabric on each side of my waist, which adds a lot of bulk = not necessary! Back to the drawing board with this one.


** due to lighting, my shirt looks really washed out. I tried to capture the lace detailing better with the next photo **

The goods:
Tank – Me Made! (refashion)
Cardi – Old Navy
Earrings – Le Chateau
Skirt – Ricki’s (altered)
Sandals – Payless

Hours worn:
10

Places visited: Work, shopping.

Main activities: Working … back to the grind!

Wear again? Yes. Basic tanks with a little embellishment are never a bad thing to have in your wardrobe.

Leave some love

