Completed: Minoru! Finally!

After procrastinating for oh … three months (!!), I’ve finally completed my Minoru. As luck would have it, the weather has suddenly gotten ridiculously warm for this time of year, so of course I haven’t been able to wear it lest I garner plenty of weird looks for wearing a jacket while everyone else is rocking shorts and tank tops. Go figure. I even whipped up a headband and cowl to match my jacket, and was quite ready to sport my super cute spring ensemble, but no such luck!

Edit: Miraculously, the weather turned crappy and cold again, so I’ve been happily wearing my jacket everywhere I go. It fits like a dream, and plans for #2 are already in the works!

In any case, once I actually sat down to sew, this project moved along quite quickly! It’s really unfortunate that I hate cutting and tracing so much, because I could have easily finished this puppy months ago. I digress. I only had to use the seam ripper twice, and both were because I got ahead of myself and didn’t read the directions.

(Topped off with a cowl and earwarmer knit by yours truly!)

This pattern is very well-written, and makes me excited to crack into the other Sewaholic pattern that I’ve got, the Renfrew shirt! There were a few spots where I wasn’t 100% clear on the directions; fortunately a quick surf over to the SAL posts cleared up any confusion.

Things I love:
– no mods required on this! which is surprising because I have long arms; LOVE where the cuffs fall. I cut a 10, and it was perfect all around. No FBA required, either!
– the color selection!!
– the hideaway hood and extra large collar
– let’s talk about the slight elastic gathering around the waist = genius!

Things I’m not crazy about:
– the lining fabric I chose; it’s very flimsy and runs quite easily. I fell for the polk dots, what can I say??
– the finishing job I did on the back of the hood, I got a bit lazy and it shows on the inside … but that will be my little secret!
– the hood not being lined; I might add a lining should I make another one with a hood. I don’t like the raw seam showing, even though it’s serger-finished.

The only thing I added to this pattern is side pockets. Girl needs her side pockets! I also omitted the velcro portion on the inner pocket and kept it like a mini sleeve pocket.


(Lining! Love the polka dots)

Boyfriend Smash took these shots for me. He has a thing for “candid” photos and proclaims he doesn’t like taking “posed” pictures. I protested that I’m trying to take good photos of the finished product (that, and I want to look decent if I’m putting up photos on the www, come on now)… so we have to reach a happy medium, because of 22 snaps he took only 3 were usable and guess what? They were all posed. Here’s a “candid” one … hehehe. Bless his heart :)

Plans for another? Why yes, absolutely. I’ve already ordered the fabric! The lining of this jacket got me thinking how fabulous it’d look on the outside, so here’s what Minoru #2 will be made out of, most likely with a purple or hot pink lining:

Of course, this is on the backburner until the below gets finished as a birthday shirt for my baby bro :)

4 thoughts on “Completed: Minoru! Finally!

  1. LOL re: your comment on my blog…can’t beat a polka dot lining… an excellent choice!
    Your Minoru looks great too…Look forward to seeing your Miinoru 2 with that b+w fabric – I’m a sucker for b+w….and a ‘hot’ colour lining will look, well, hot! (:)

  2. Pingback: It’s heeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeere! Almost! | Smash Knits

  3. I’m thinking of finally making a Minoru (I’ve been saying this for a year but can’t justify another jacket!) but mostly, YES on the men not taking the right shots. It took about 1 year for me to get my husband trained to take the photos *I* want, but in all fairness he has created some really awesome shots himself. But the candid ones of me adjusting the garment? They go in the trash right away.

Leave some love

