Where did summer go?!

Things have been busy the past few months in my neck of the woods! The summer months found boyfriend Smash and I working hard outside to build a deck

deck

plant a garden (that didn’t thrive – hopefully next year!), and enjoy the weather. We also did a few inside projects, including building gallery shelving (plan here) to replicate my old ones

wall

painting the LR/DR, painting my new sewing studio (eeee!!!)

room

and painting the bathroom. Whew, I’m tired just reading that list!

bath

A best friend’s wedding at the end of August called for some fancy clutches, so I’m happy to say that at least the only sewing project I managed over the summer was for such a lovely occasion. These four beauties were made in taffeta (grey) and satin (purple), and were a lot of fun to sew! The pattern is from ConstructivPatterns. I can easily say I have never sewn with such a comprehensive, detailed pattern. At first glance the clutch may seem complicated to construct but this pattern made it so, so easy. Heads up, there is a fair amount of prep work involved, but it is completely worth it! The clutches were finished off with custom labels with our names on them, and a little sentimental embroidered heart and initials, requested from the bride in honor of one of her Grandpa’s.

clutchGiven that my last sewing project was a two months, I am certainly getting antsy to get back to sitting in front of my machine, but…. it’s fall, which means that Smash Knits craft markets and the Etsy shop are in full swing and keeping me busy with orders, so no sewing for this girl for a while yet! Instead my hands are busy with cushy cozy wools…
knit

Leave some love

